Sola Sobowale and Layi Wasabi emerge as major winners at Nigeria Comedy Awards: Full List

Sola Sobowale and Layi Wasabi emerge as major winners at Nigeria Comedy Awards: Full List

The  Nigeria Comedy Awards took place on Sunday at the Eko Conference Centre in Victoria Island, Lagos State, marking a momentous occasion for the Nigerian comedy industry.

Prominent comedy stars such as Layi Wasabi, Taooma, and Broda Shagi were duly recognized for their exceptional talents, alongside accolades presented to notable Nollywood stars.

According to The PUNCH, the event was established to acknowledge and appreciate outstanding performers and projects within the comedy industry.

The awards ceremony was meticulously organized by a seasoned team, spearheaded by Bunmi Davies, the founder of Afrotainment, serving as the event producer.

Other key figures included Debbie Odutayo, the Executive Director of Royal Roots Communication Network, who served as the Project Consultant, as well as Wale Adenuga, Managing Director of Wale Adenuga Productions, and Wole Adenuga, Managing Director of WapTV, who served as executive producers.

The hosting duties were skillfully carried out by TV personality Bukunmi Adeaga Ilori, widely known as Kiekie. The event featured captivating performances by renowned musicians 2Baba, 9ice, and comedian Akpororo, who graced the stage as special guest performers.

Below is the full list of winners:

  • Best Standup Comedian (Male)- Basket Mouth
  • Best stand-up comedian(Female) – Helen Paul
  • Best Comedy Movie – Passport
  • Best Comedy Actor Series/Movie (Female) – Mercy Johnson (Passport)
  • Best Comedy Actor, Series/Movie (Male) – Broda Shagi (Face to Face)
  • Best Comedy Kid category (Male/Female) – Kiriku
  • Best Comedy Cartoonist – Dada Adekola (Mr. and Mrs.; Vanguard Newspaper). He was also awarded a prize of N1,000,000.
    Recognition award – Sola Sobowale
  • Best Comedy Skit-maker (Male)- Mr Macaroni
  • Best Comedy Skit Maker (Female) – Taaooma
  • Revelation of the Year Award – Layi Wasabi (Prize money of N1,000,000)
  • Posthumous award – Late Gbenga Adeboye (Daughter receives the award on behalf of her dad and a grand prize of N1,000,000)
  • Posthumous Award – Late Sam Loco Efe (A grand prize of N1,000,000)
    WapTV Special Award – Akpan and Oduma

See more posts about 👇

About the author

FN Official ✅

Leave a Comment